Free pdf The Complete Midshipman Bolitho (The Bolitho Novels)Author Alexander Kent – Publitags.co

Great reading Another great sea epic begins Great maritime adventure in the tradition of Horatio Hornblower and Jack Aubrey Great page turners that you ll not want to put down A good Claytons book. Three Novels In One Sixteen Year Old Richard Bolitho Joins The British Royal Navy As A Young Midshipman Follow His Adventures As He Undergoes A Severe Initiation Into The Dangerous World Of The Great Sailing Warships Richard Bolitho Midshipman A Young Richard Bolitho Joins The Gun Gorgon Naive And Untested, Bolitho Must Learn The Ways Of The Navy Quickly If He Is To Survive Midshipman Bolitho And The Avenger Bolitho Returns Home To Cornwall For Christmas, But Smuggling, Ship Wrecking And Witchcraft Tear Apart His Once Peaceful Community Band Of Brothers Bolitho Stands On The Brink Of Manhood And Takes His Examination To Begin His True Career As A King S Officer But Soon He Must Test His Mettle Against Vicious Smugglers Excellent English Sailing StoryIn the vein of the Horatio Hornblower series, this is a great English sailing story It is very similar in many ways the every day struggle of English seamen and the risks and rewards of those young officers trying to advance their careers If you like English sailing stories you will like this book. New Horizon AheadI grew up on Hornblower , thanks to a movie meet Captain Jack Aubrey, and now get to know Bolitho Can t Wait The age of tall shipsI ve always been a great fan of books about the great age of tall ships, and Alexander Kent doesn t disappoint Solid read I enjoy sea adventure novels, and am pleasantly surprised at the pace and characters Try this novel Others in the series may appeal to you. 4 stars Reread after many years Good as I remember So without trying I have kept alive my December tradition of beginning a historical fiction novel All right I got it for free off of Google Play awhile ago, and yep most of the historical fiction I read seems to be pinned to the topic of the British Navy I can probably blame this on being in the seeming minority that like the Hornblower books as an aside first editions were given to me by my now former spouse years ago of four of the first five books as written, not the character s chronological history.Along with O Brian s Jack Aubrey Kent s Richard Bolitho is to my knowledge among the popular series in this genre Like Hornblower the books were not written in a chronological order for the character, but this collection are Bolitho s first adventures.Bolitho has already been at sea for a few years as a midshipman In this tome we follow some of his adventures involving pirates, smugglers and what he goes through to earn his first promotion.I think Kent does a better job than O Brian and Forester is bringing Bolitho s family into the story While not a particularly wealthy family, it is one with a long history of service in the Navy, and the reader does get the idea that said service was expected of Bolitho His brother and father already being in service and his mother understand s the sacrifices that she is expected to make on their behalf and for the family.A well paced read, fans of the genre should enjoy this tome. Alexander Kent was a pen name of Douglas Reeman, who passed away in January 2017 Having several of the book in this series on my bookshelf I thought it fitting to read one now.This book is actually a collection of three novellas that document the early years of Richard Bolitho When we join the story in the first novella, Bolitho has already served on one ship as a Midshipman but is then posted to a 74 gun two decker Here he meets the usual assortment of fellow officers and crew The second story he is dragged into emergency service off the coast of Cornwall by his brother In the final story he sails to the Channel Islands with a skeleton crew delivering a new ship to the squadron stationed there As these were the early stories Kent was probably feeling his way around the character It did lack a bit of excitement but, from what I have heard, things improve in the later volumes An easy read with less emphasis on the complex nautical terms that make works such as Patrick O Brian hard to get into Overall a good start to the series and I look forward to reading.